Ford Authority

2016 Lincoln MKS Awarded 5-Star Safety Rating By NHTSA

The outgoing 2016 Lincoln MKS sedan has received the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) highest five-star overall safety rating.

As reported by Edmunds, the Lincoln MKS was awarded five stars in both the front and side crash test categories, and four stars in the rollover test. The five-star overall rating is applicable to both the front-wheel drive and all-wheel drive models.

Standard safety equipment on the 2016 Lincoln MKS includes anti-lock brakes, stability control, traction control, front side airbags, side curtain airbags, a rearview backup camera – which will become mandatory on all new vehicles as of May, 2018 – and rear parking sensors. Additional safety options like adaptive cruise control with frontal-collision warning and brake assistance, lane-keep assist, blind spot monitoring, and rear cross-traffic warning are available.

Beyond that, the 2016 Lincoln MKS offers a standard MyKey feature, which allows owners to control parameters such as the max speed and max audio volume when handing the keys over to younger drivers. The car’s SYNC infotainment system also contains an emergency notification system, which dials 9-1-1 automatically in the event of a crash.

The Lincoln MKS full-size sedan is set to be replaced by the new Continental for the 2017 model year.

Aaron Brzozowski is a writer and motoring enthusiast from Detroit with an affinity for '80s German steel. He is not active on the Twitter these days, but you may send him a courier pigeon.

Subscribe to Ford Authority

For around-the-clock Ford news coverage

We'll send you one email per day with the latest Ford updates. It's totally free.

No Comments yet

Leave a comment