Ford Authority

All-New Ford Focus Earns 5-Star Safety Rating in Europe

As is important for all cars sold in the EU, the all-new Ford Focus received a maximum 5-star safety rating from the European New Car Assessment Programme (Euro NCAP). The Focus scored high for both adult and child occupants and is one of the first vehicles to receive the 5-star rating under new Euro NCAP testing protocols. The first all-new Focus vehicles are now on their way to customers in Europe.

The 5-star rating may be due to the all-new Focus’s safety features including technology that can detect cyclists, pedestrians, and other vehicles, in addition to a collision-prevention braking system. The all-new Focus also touted a 40 percent increase in front crash load capability from Ford’s new C2 architecture.

Euro NCAP commended Ford’s Pre-Collision Assist with Pedestrian and Cyclist Detection. The system automatically applies the brakes if the driver does not respond to warning signs of a possible collision. This feature also functions in the dark using the headlamp lights.

Additionally, technology in the all-new Focus includes:

  • Adaptive Cruise Control with speed sign recognition and lane-centering technology.
  • Adaptive Front Lighting System, which adjusts headlamp patterns by monitoring bends in the road.
  • Evasive Steering Assist, if a collision is imminent due to a slower-moving or stationary vehicle on the road, the technology will provide steering assistance to maneuver around the vehicle.
  • Wrong Way Alert, which alerts drivers if they are driving through two “No Entry” signs on a motorway map. Currently, this feature is only available for customers in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland.

Subscribe to Ford Authority

For around-the-clock Ford news coverage

We'll send you one email per day with the latest Ford updates. It's totally free.

No Comments yet

Leave a comment