Ford Authority

NACTOY 2020 Truck Of The Year Semifinalists Announced

Each year, the North American Car, Utility, and Truck of the Year (NACTOY) awards are held with the semifinalists announced about this time each year. The awards pick out which vehicles have been deemed the best by a group of jurors. The jurors are made up of 50 respected journalists from print, online, radio, and broadcast media in the U.S. and Canada.

To chose the Truck of the Year finalist, the 50 jurors will take a drive on October 8th to 10th in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The event will give them a chance to evaluate the semifinalists on some of the best roads in Michigan. The three Truck of the Year finalists will be announced at the LA Auto Show on November 20th, with the winners announced in early 2020.

There are five truck finalists chosen each year, and this year, the Ford Ranger is among those trucks. Vying against the Ford Ranger to win the Truck of the Year award are the Chevy Silverado HD, GMC Sierra HD, Jeep Gladiator, and Ram Heavy Duty.

The NACTOY awards are meant to recognize the most outstanding new vehicles of the year. The vehicles are intended to be benchmarks in their segments based on innovation, design, safety, handling, driver satisfaction, and value for the dollar. The 2019 Ford Ranger has been subject to a few recalls. The truck was recalled due to an issue with the front passenger seat belt and a problem with the shifter.

Subscribe to Ford Authority for more Ranger news and around-the-clock Ford news coverage.

Shane is a car guy with a fondness for Mustangs and off-roading.

Subscribe to Ford Authority

For around-the-clock Ford news coverage

We'll send you one email per day with the latest Ford updates. It's totally free.


  1. Raymond Ramirez

    I would like the new Ford Ranger to win this award, but I am guessing that the Jeep Gladiator will be the final winner.

    1. Nate

      No way the Ranger is going to win this. And you’re right, it will be the Gladiator.

  2. Scott

    I wouldn’t own one, but the Ram will win out ..

  3. Chris Blanchard

    The Ranger is by far the oldest design amongst the finalists. With only a single powertrain, the worst folding rear seat (Super Crew) among midsize trucks. It would diminish the award’s stature if Ranger won. I think it will come down to the GMC with its Swiss Army tailgate or the Gladiator, which is totally new. The Ram is also, but not as innovative as the Silv-ierras.
    Ford will have to wait until the next-gen Ranger/Bronco debuts, And there should be a new F-150 by then, too.

    Shouldn’t the acronym be NAC*U*TOY now?


Leave a comment