Ford Authority

Joey Logano And No. 22 Nascar Ford Win 2022 Championship

Joey Logano made a two-time champion out of the No. 22 Nascar Ford Mustang on Sunday, November 6th, 2022, holding off his fellow Playoffs contenders to take home the victory.

Logano poled the No. 22 Mustang during Saturday’s qualifying session at Phoenix Raceway, proving that his machine was the one to beat heading into the final race of the 2022 season. He went on to lead 187 laps, despite being challenged by his Penske Racing teammate, Ryan Blaney in the No. 12 Mustang. In fact, the margin of victory was just .301 seconds at the line.

“We did it!” Logano said after the race. “We’re champions again – yes! Oh, my God, I’m so excited. Thank you to everybody, my team. You guys are amazing. Gave me a good race car, good pit stop there at the end, got us up in front. Boy, that was just intense there at the end. It’s all about championships. That’s what it’s all about, and we worked so hard the last couple weeks trying to put ourselves in position.”

Logano’s championship victory makes him the first active Nascar Ford driver to hold two championships since David Pearson did the same in 1968 and 1969.

The only other Playoffs driver who had something for Logano’s No. 22 Mustang at the end was the No. 1 Chevy Camaro ZL1 driven by Ross Chastain, who ran consistently faster lap times heading to the checkered flag. However, Chastain’s No. 1 Camaro didn’t have enough time to seal the deal.

Chase Elliott’s No. 9 Camaro finished two laps down after contact with Chastain’s No. 1 Camaro mid-race, eliminating his chances of securing a second championship. Meanwhile, Christopher Bell’s No. 20 Toyota TRD Camry suffered a bad pit stop and wasn’t able to make up ground despite challenging Logano’s No. 22 Mustang for several laps.

Additionally, the No. 6 Mustang of Brad Keselowski caught fire in the latter stage of the race after rubber buildup from the tires caused his race car to burn. He exited safely, but it appeared eerily similar to the incident that struck the No. 4 Nascar Ford of Kevin Harvick at Darlington in September.

Nascar Cup Series Race Results, Phoenix Raceway, November 6, 2022
Pos Car Number Driver Team Time Speed Car
1 22 Joey Logano (P) Shell Pennzoil Ford 26.788 134.389 Ford Mustang
2 12 Ryan Blaney Menards/Dutch Boy Ford 26.791 134.373 Ford Mustang
3 14 Chase Briscoe Mahindra Tractors Ford 26.825 134.203 Ford Mustang
4 5 Kyle Larson Chevrolet 26.897 133.844 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
5 9 Chase Elliott (P) NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet 26.979 133.437 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
6 21 Harrison Burton # Motorcraft/Quick Lane Ford 27.011 133.279 Ford Mustang
7 4 Kevin Harvick Busch Light Ford 27.056 133.057 Ford Mustang
8 24 William Byron Axalta Chevrolet 27.09 132.89 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
9 41 Cole Custer Ford 27.125 132.719 Ford Mustang
10 23 Ty Gibbs(i) Monster Energy Toyota 27.175 132.475 Toyota TRD Camry
11 8 Tyler Reddick Cheddar's Scratch Kitchen Chevrolet 26.831 134.173 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
12 19 Martin Truex Jr. Bass Pro Shops Toyota 26.846 134.098 Toyota TRD Camry
13 10 Aric Almirola Smithfield Ford 26.873 133.963 Ford Mustang
14 2 Austin Cindric # Discount Tire Ford 26.874 133.958 Ford Mustang
15 3 Austin Dillon Get Bioethanol Chevrolet 26.877 133.944 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
16 9 Chase Elliott Hooters Chevrolet 32.941 136.608 C
16 16 AJ Allmendinger(i) Celsius Chevrolet 26.88 133.929 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
17 20 Christopher Bell (P) DeWalt Toyota 26.881 133.924 Toyota TRD Camry
18 6 Brad Keselowski Kohler Generators Ford 26.903 133.814 Ford Mustang
20 4 Kevin Harvick #BuschLightPolite Ford 33.019 136.285 C
19 17 Chris Buescher Fastenal Ford 26.932 133.67 Ford Mustang
22 38 Todd Gilliland # First Phase Ford 33.055 136.137 C
20 34 Michael McDowell Love's Travel Stops Ford 26.943 133.615 Ford Mustang
21 11 Denny Hamlin FedEx Express Toyota 27.009 133.289 Toyota TRD Camry
22 18 Kyle Busch M&M's Thank You Fans! Toyota 27.015 133.259 Toyota TRD Camry
23 45 Bubba Wallace McDonald's Toyota 27.021 133.23 Toyota TRD Camry
24 48 Alex Bowman Ally Chevrolet 27.025 133.21 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
25 1 Ross Chastain (P) Worldwide Express/Advent Health Chevrolet 27.064 133.018 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
26 31 Justin Haley LeafFilter Gutter Protection Chevrolet 27.071 132.984 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
27 7 Corey LaJoie Schluter Systems Chevrolet 27.085 132.915 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
28 99 Daniel Suarez Freeway Insurance/CommScope Chevrolet 27.114 132.773 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
29 47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Fry's/Nature Valley Chevrolet 27.143 132.631 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
30 43 Erik Jones FOCUSfactor Chevrolet 27.226 132.227 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
31 38 Todd Gilliland # Boot Barn Ford 27.256 132.081 Ford Mustang
32 42 Ty Dillon Black Rifle Coffee Company Chevrolet 27.292 131.907 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
33 78 BJ McLeod(i) Pala Casino Ford 27.561 130.619 Ford Mustang
34 51 Cody Ware Nurtec ODT (Rimegepant) Ford 27.718 129.88 Ford Mustang
35 15 Garrett Smithley(i) Jacob Companies Ford 27.787 129.557 Ford Mustang
36 77 Landon Cassill(i) Mutoh/General Formulations Chevrolet 28.414 126.698 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1

# – Rookie
i – Points ineligible
* – Part-time driver
P – Playoffs eligible

Subscribe to Ford Authority for more Ford racing newsNascar newsFord Mustang news and 24/7 Ford news coverage.

Alexandra is a Colorado-based journalist with a passion for all things involving horsepower, be it automotive or equestrian.

Subscribe to Ford Authority

For around-the-clock Ford news coverage

We'll send you one email per day with the latest Ford updates. It's totally free.


  1. Mark B

    Congrats to Joey and his team! This is surprising considering the trouble the Mustangs seem to struggle with during the entire season.

  2. blksn8k

    After winning at Las Vegas, which put them in the final four, the 22 team had several weeks to prepare for the final race at Phoenix while all the other teams were still trying just to make the final four. The Ford teams were also more competitive on the less than mile and a half tracks. Phoenix is a one mile track. I’m sure NASCAR will pick a different track for next season’s finale for that reason alone. The unwritten rules say the Hendrick teams must always win.


Leave a comment