Ford Authority

No. 12 NASCAR Ford Drives Wrong Way During 2023 Clash Qualifying: Video

Ryan Blaney, driver of the No. 12 NASCAR Ford Mustang, spun out during qualifying for the season-opening Clash at the Coliseum, prompting the sanctioning body to disallow his time, as driving backward is illegal..

Blaney posted the 11th-fastest time, but his time was ultimately axed due to his spinout. He spun out on a hot lap and drove the wrong direction to get back to the back straightaway, where he spun his car around to attempt the lap again. This move is not allowed by NASCAR, and Blaney’s No. 12 Mustang will start last in his heat race on Sunday instead.

The fastest Ford in qualifying was the No. 10 Mustang of Aric Almirola, who posted the fifth-fastest time. Almirola, who announced last year that he was rescinding his plans for retirement and will continue to drive the No. 10 NASCAR Ford for years to come, posted a best lap of 13.6 seconds around the temporary track inside the Los Angeles Coliseum at 66.176 mph. By comparison, the polesitter, Justin Haley, threw his No. 31 Chevy Camaro ZL1 around the quarter-mile oval in 13.413 seconds at 67.099 mph.

Harrison Burton, driver of the No. 21 Mustang, is the next-best Blue Oval team, and will take the green flag from 13th. Kevin Harvick, driver of the No. 4 Mustang, will begin his retirement tour with a 14th-best qualifying time. Meanwhile, Joey Logano, driver of the No. 22 NASCAR Ford and last year’s Clash winner, was 17th-fastest, having spun out during practice.

The only driver unable to make a lap was Ty Gibbs, whose No. 54 Toyota TRD Camry caught fire. He will start at the rear of his heat as a result.

The 2023 Clash at the Coliseum will begin with four heat races scheduled to take place 5 p.m. ET, while the Clash itself is scheduled to start at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday, February 5th. As a reminder, this is an exhibition race, and teams will not accrue points for the NASCAR Playoffs.

NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying Results, L.A. Coliseum, February 4, 2023
Pos Car Number Driver Team Time Speed Car
1 31 Justin Haley Celsius Chevrolet 13.413 67.099 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
2 8 Kyle Busch BetMGM Chevrolet 13.553 66.406 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
3 20 Christopher Bell Interstate Batteries Toyota 13.569 66.328 Toyota TRD Camry
4 24 William Byron Chevrolet 13.596 66.196 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
5 10 Aric Almirola Smithfield Ford 13.6 66.176 Ford Mustang
6 3 Austin Dillon Get Bioethanol Chevrolet 13.605 66.152 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
7 11 Denny Hamlin Sport Clips Haircuts Toyota 13.621 66.074 Toyota TRD Camry
8 16 AJ Allmendinger Action Industries Chevrolet 13.623 66.065 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
9 48 Alex Bowman Ally Chevrolet 13.624 66.06 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
10 5 Kyle Larson Chevrolet 13.638 65.992 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
11 99 Daniel Suarez Jockey Chevrolet 13.663 65.871 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
12 1 Ross Chastain Worldwide Express Chevrolet 13.683 65.775 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
13 21 Harrison Burton Motorcraft/Quick Lane Ford 13.714 65.626 Ford Mustang
14 4 Kevin Harvick Busch Light Ford 13.734 65.531 Ford Mustang
15 14 Chase Briscoe Mahindra Tractors Ford 13.735 65.526 Ford Mustang
16 23 Bubba Wallace DoorDash Toyota 13.742 65.493 Toyota TRD Camry
17 22 Joey Logano Shell Pennzoil Ford 13.749 65.459 Ford Mustang
18 47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Food4Less/Velveeta Chevrolet 13.767 65.374 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
19 45 Tyler Reddick MoneyLion Toyota 13.793 65.25 Toyota TRD Camry
20 43 Erik Jones Allegiant Chevrolet 13.817 65.137 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
21 42 Noah Gragson # Sunseeker Resort Chevrolet 13.823 65.109 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
22 19 Martin Truex Jr. Bass Pro Shops Toyota 13.851 64.977 Toyota TRD Camry
23 6 Brad Keselowski King's Hawaiian Ford 13.863 64.921 Ford Mustang
24 41 Ryan Preece United Rentals Ford 13.87 64.888 Ford Mustang
25 34 Michael McDowell Ford 13.89 64.795 Ford Mustang
26 2 Austin Cindric Freightliner Ford 13.91 64.702 Ford Mustang
27 38 Todd Gilliland gener8tor Skills Ford 13.915 64.678 Ford Mustang
28 7 Corey LaJoie Animal Control FOX Chevrolet 13.919 64.66 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
29 17 Chris Buescher Fastenal Ford 13.935 64.586 Ford Mustang
30 9 Chase Elliott NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet 14.087 63.889 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
31 15 JJ Yeley CW & Sons Infrastructure Ford 14.254 63.14 Ford Mustang
32 51 Cody Ware Biohaven Ford 14.316 62.867 Ford Mustang
33 77 Ty Dillon NASCAR Fan Rewards Chevrolet 14.489 62.116 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
34 78 BJ McLeod Celsius Chevrolet 15.308 58.793 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
35 12 Ryan Blaney Menards/Great Lakes Flooring Ford 40.301 22.332 Ford Mustang
36 54 Ty Gibbs # Monster Energy Toyota 0 0 Toyota TRD Camry

Subscribe to Ford Authority for more Ford racing newsNASCAR newsFord Mustang news and 24/7 Ford news coverage.

Alexandra is a Colorado-based journalist with a passion for all things involving horsepower, be it automotive or equestrian.

Subscribe to Ford Authority

For around-the-clock Ford news coverage

We'll send you one email per day with the latest Ford updates. It's totally free.


  1. TMP

    Love it that you are covering NASCAR. Good writing and timely coverage. Keep it up!

  2. Ford Owner

    Who won?

    1. Booker

      Martin Truex Jr


Leave a comment