Ford Authority

NASCAR Ford Teams Win In First Round Of Fan Choice Awards

The first annual 2023 NASCAR Fan Choice Awards gave the public the opportunity to award the drivers and teams that were best in class throughout the season. A few NASCAR Ford teams earned superlatives in the first round of awards announced on X (formerly known as Twitter), having won over the fan vote.

When it came to the Best Paint Scheme during the 2023 Cup Series season, the fanbase rallied behind Kevin Harvick, voting that his No. 29 NASCAR Ford Mustang livery as the winner. As a reminder, 2023 was Harvick’s final fulltime season, and he raced with the special paint scheme with the No. 29 on the doors at North Wilkesboro Speedway for the annual non-point paying All-Star Race in May. Though Harvick drove the No. 4 Mustang for his entire NASCAR Ford career, he borrowed the No. 29 from his original Chevy team as a throwback to his first-ever Cup Series ride.

Jonathan Hassler, crew chief for the championship-winning No. 12 NASCAR Ford team, was voted in as Crew Chief of the Year, thanks to his winning calls on the pit box. Hassler was named crew chief for Ryan Blaney, driver of the No. 12 Mustang, at the start of the 2022 season, and thus far, their relationship has proved to be a winning combination on track.

Chris Buescher, driver of the No. 17 Mustang, earned the Most Improved award for his performance throughout 2023. Though Buscher didn’t make it to the Championship 4, he did make it to Victory Lane three times at Richmond, Michigan and Daytona. He showed tenacity throughout the season and proved that his team, Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing, can still run with the best.

Meanwhile, the fans voted the inaugural Chicago street race as the Best Race in 2023, while Kyle Larson’s victory at the All-Star Race earned the title of Most Dominant Performance. More winners in different categories will be announced later in the week.

Subscribe to Ford Authority for more Ford racing newsNASCAR news, and ongoing Ford news coverage.

Alexandra is a Colorado-based journalist with a passion for all things involving horsepower, be it automotive or equestrian.

Subscribe to Ford Authority

For around-the-clock Ford news coverage

We'll send you one email per day with the latest Ford updates. It's totally free.

No Comments yet

Leave a comment